Though it stands for nightlife today, Ladadika was once the most vibrant commercial part of the city. Having escaped the great fire of 1917, the area maintained its urban characteristics by being a suitable sample for the study of the city’s architectural history. The area’s listed buildings are made of stone or dark Flemish bricks, and wood has been used for roofs and casings.
The name Ladadika comes from the fact that the ground floor shops were trading oil and other edible products. Gradually, and especially after the 1978 earthquake and the devastation the buildings suffered, the area began to decline and became infamous.
In 1985, however, following a regulation, Ladadika were declared a listed area, constructions were banned and many old buildings were restored. It is still one of the most popular destinations for night life in the city -specially to foreign visitors.